Uncategorized

Day 6 Starting batch #2!

Oooh wee! I’m multi-tasking!!! Started crabapple batch #2 this morning.

Juice, pommace bag, 7 quarts water, campden, yeast nutrient, pectin enzyme and white sugar.

Juice, pommace bag, 7 quarts water, campden, yeast nutrient, pectin enzyme and white sugar.

Now, with that done, I realized that batch #1 has an issue. Remember  that Liberal Arts brain issue I mentioned regarding math and measurements? When I was getting batch #2 situated, I realized that the bucket looked more full than the previous batch. Running back through what I did on the first batch, I came to the conclusion that, when measuring the water to add, instead of putting in 7 quarts, I put in HALF that much! Ouch. So, I’ve reached out to someone on a homebrew forum to ask for advice. Should I add water at this point or just keep rolling as is? I have some time to see if he responds. The cider tastes okay at this point and the SG is okay, I think. We’ll see.

On the first batch, the status is that it is racked in a one gallon carboy with another 32 oz in a growler. The airlock is only showing a bubble about once per 45 seconds to minute. The carboy is clear and the growler is brown, so I am using the carboy to judge clarity. I do see more fallout to the bottom, but cider is nowhere near clear.

On the second batch, the initial SG reading is 1.044 @ 75 degrees. Hydrometer is calibrated to 60 degrees. Adjusted reading is: 1.045.  And I have the proper amount of liquid this time!

Batch #1 in carboy...bubbling slowed way down, sediment falling.

Batch #1 in carboy…bubbling slowed way down, sediment falling.

May be hard to see in photo, but there is sediment falling out to bottom.

May be hard to see in photo, but there is sediment falling out to bottom.

Update: 9:45 pm     Looks like the fermenting is over…no bubbling on batch #1. So, we wait for clarity. (I know…deep, right?)

Standard

Leave a Reply

