Uncategorized

Day 12 Test Bottle of Cider, My First!

I noticed a bubble in the airlock on the beer growler last night and it continues this morning…I haven’t really timed it, but probably 30 to 45 seconds apart. The primary bucket has not started bubbling yet. It should be sometime around next Tues. to Thurs, for the next step, if the bucket starts going today (hopefully). I could rack for a couple of days to settle at that point, or go ahead and bottle. I kind of want to be sure it’s ready for Thanksgiving, but I don’t think two days is going to affect that…unless it takes a couple of extra days for the bucket to get going.

Nov. 6, 2013 The current line-up. Left to right: Cider batch #1 carboy, cider batch #1 flip-top, cider batch # 2 carboy #1, cider batch #2 carboy #2 , English Nut Brown Ale primary fermentation bucket, Nut Brown Ale Growler.

Nov. 6, 2013 The current line-up. Left to right: Cider batch #1 carboy, cider batch #1 flip-top, cider batch # 2 carboy #1, cider batch #2 carboy #2 , English Nut Brown Ale primary fermentation bucket, Nut Brown Ale Growler.

Nothing to report on either cider batch. #1 continues to get clearer and batch #2 seems to be just starting in that direction…I’ll check the sediment on that one and the timing to see if it’s getting close to the next racking on that one. The flip-top on batch #1 just might need to be bottled soon for sake of comparison to longer aging the rest.

8:15 am  Ooh, ooh! I just saw an airlock bubble on the beer bucket!

10:00 am     I checked the flip-top bottle on cider batch #1 and it was very clear with a defined layer of sediment on the bottom. I decided to go ahead and bottle the contents of the flip-top as a baseline.

Transfer from flip-top to bottle.

Transfer from flip-top to bottle.

I sanitized a green bottle, formerly Stella Artois beer, and equipment to siphon and bottle fill. Unfortunately, the siphon tube would not fit into the flip-top opening. I sanitized a S/S funnel. I dropped 4 Munton’s CarTabs into the bottle and then carefully poured the contents of the flip-top into the green bottle, trying not to disturb the sediment. I had some left to pour into a glass for SG testing. With the bottle filled, I capped it.

My first bottle! Prototype for Sherlock's Cumber Batch Crabapple Cyser.

My first bottle! Prototype for Sherlock’s Cumber Batch Crabapple Cyser.

I tested the leftover cider and the SG is right on 0.990 at 71 degrees room temp., with an adjusted SG of 0.0991 for my hydrometer calibrated to 60 degrees. I can’t really tell the alcohol by volume percentage because I was unable to test the SG until day 5. Batch #2 had an initial SG of 1.045. If batch #1 started off about the same, the ABV would be 7.22%…nice! The color of the cider is a nice, pale white wine color with perhaps a very light green tint. The aroma is a fresh apple and dry white wine. Honestly, if I didn’t know better, I would think I was drinking a light, dry white wine.

Pale, white wine color of sample.

Pale, white wine color of sample.

I was thinking about backsweetening the rest of the batch, but I may just let this batch go as a “brut” Champagne-like cider. So far, I’m very happy with my results! (And this little 3oz sample has been a nice preview! )

11:40 am     The Munton’s CarTabs are about 1/2 dissolved and I see nice little bubbles in the bottle! The English Nut Brown Ale is bubbling about once per every 15 seconds in both containers.

2:45 pm     Munton’s CarTabs are long-gone, but now there are some fuzzy-looking floaters. I thought the pour was nice and clear, but maybe this is a normal side effect and will settle. I hope so, because I was really pleased with how the bottling process went.

8:45 pm     The beer fermentation bucket is now bubbling at about once every 4 to 5 seconds. The growler is still at about 25 second intervals.

Standard

Leave a Reply

