Uncategorized

Day 14: Final Racking for Cider Batch #1

First, quick notes on the English Nut Brown Ale: the primary fermenter has slowed to airlock bubble at about 35 second intervals. The growler appears to have stopped…no bubble after over 2 minutes of observation.

Cider Batch #1 carboy has been racked for a final clarifying/aging stage. Went smoothly and looks good.

Ready for final racking.

Ready for final racking.

A little sediment on the bottom. I used the cider at the bottom to fill a bottle…a little cloudy, but I think it will taste good.

Little sediment in this round. Looking good!

Little sediment in this round. Looking good!

10:45 pm     I decided that the growler of English Nut Brown Ale has done all the fermenting it’s going to do. I went ahead and racked it and will let it sit until the primary fermentation bucket is ready. Maybe Tuesday? I’m thinking about blending the two together and checking the SG before adding the priming sugar and bottling. The color and flavor in the growler looked good…as far as I can tell.

Racking the Growler of English Nut Brown Ale. Primary Fermentation Bucket to follow in a few days.

Racking the Growler of English Nut Brown Ale. Primary Fermentation Bucket to follow in a few days.

Since this is my first brew ever, I’m not really sure. And I can’t really taste the alcohol, so this may be the best reason to blend. If I try bottling this growler separately, it may just be too weak.

Standard

Leave a Reply

