Uncategorized

Day 28 Labeling TARDIS Cider, Sampling Fawlty Brown Ale

I wavered on whether or not to open the bottles of cider batch #2 and add yeast and try to restart the fermentation process. The test soda screw cap bottle is flat and there isn’t really much apple flavor. I opened the test 12 oz bottle and think I heard the very slightest amount of release, but it tasted flat. But maybe the yeast isn’t all dead and is just slow to wake up. I decided to go ahead and label it “TARDIS Cider”. I’m just going to let it sit a couple of months and see if it ever takes off. If not, then I’ll either sweeten it and rebottle it to drink “still” or maybe try to add new yeast, sweeten, prime, rebottle and pasteurize. Not sure if option #2 is viable…I’ll do some reading and give it some time. The labels look good, though!

TARDIS Cider...it's  bigger on the inside.

TARDIS Cider…it’s bigger on the inside.

9:30 pm   Cider batch #4 buckets still bubbling every 7 or 8 seconds. I  stuck the green test bottle from Cider #2 and the flip-top test bottle of the Fawlty Brown Ale in the refrigerator earlier today and I decided it was time to give the ale a try.

Fawlty Brown Ale poured from the test flip-top bottle. Nice!

Fawlty Brown Ale poured from the test flip-top bottle. Nice!

The top gave a nice “pfft!” when opened. The pour didn’t create a big head, but the color looked good and there was carbonation. I sipped and…it’s GOOD!!! I’m not a professional beer critic, but it’s good. Had my wife try it and she was surprised that it was so good! It’s smooth, but with a pleasant bitterness.

Pretty color, nice on the carbonation. I thought it might need more, but now, I think it was just right.

Pretty color, nice on the carbonation. I thought it might need more, but now, I think it was just right.

Very drinkable! I think the alcohol level is good for a 16 oz bottle …or 12 oz  bottles. Needs more carb, but I look forward to more comments at Thanksgiving!

Yum! This won't last long!

Yum! This won’t last long!

Standard

Leave a Reply

