Uncategorized

Day 35 Bottled Cider Batch #4

Bottling Cider Batch #4

Bottling Cider Batch #4

Bottled cider batch #4 today. I haven’t decided on a name for it yet. This one is my first that is NOT 100% crabapple juice. It does include a majority of crabapple juice, but also includes some Fuji apples and some commercially produced Murray’s Cider. The FG when I blended the two carboys and two 22 oz bottles in the bottling bucket was 1.002 at 69F. The adjusted FG, after compensating for hydrometer calibration is 1.003. This batch went through some separate containers and a couple of blendings, but the best OG I came up with was about 1.050; therefore, ABV % of around 6.25% should be a pretty good guesstimate.

Now, I need to track the carbonation to judge when I want to pasteurize this batch. For that purpose, I bottled the last bit of cider into a flip-top 16 oz bottle. The rest was bottled in 22 oz bottles…a total of 12 of those.

Cider Batch #4 Yield is twelve 22 oz bottles, plus a flip top tester to judge when to pasteurize.

Cider Batch #4 Yield is twelve 22 oz bottles, plus a flip top tester to judge when to pasteurize.

Since the test bottle is a little smaller and may contain a bit more active yeast from the bottom of the bucket, than the other bottles, I’ll have to keep a careful watch and make a judgement call.

I believe this batch will be the sweetest I have bottled to up until now. It wasn’t cloyingly sweet, but nice. It should turn out right where I hoped it would! I’ll check the pressure in two days, since that was how fast my last pasteurized batch took to reach full carbonation; however, it’s a steadier 69F in the house lately and I anticipate a little longer for this batch.

Standard

Leave a Reply

