Uncategorized

Day 41 Bottling the Dry Stout!

No interest in beer, but my youngest likes to help bottle and cap.

No interest in beer, but my youngest likes to help bottle and cap.

With a little help from my youngest, I bottled my batch of dry stout. While cleaning my equipment, I tipped over a bucket that had my hydrometer in it and, of course, it broke. Happens eventually to us all, I’m sure. Luckily, I got a backup when I acquired some freebies! Lesson learned though…need to go buy a replacement to have on hand. Now, yesterday I got an adjusted SG of 1.013 and today, with the other hydrometer, I get an adjusted FG of 1.015. I don’t know…if it’s more accurate than yesterday, my ABV would only be 2.89%. If I go by yesterday’s reading, it would be 3.15%. Oh well. The color and flavor seem to be right.

Bottoms of the carboys...didn't take any chances on disturbing the lees.

Bottoms of the carboys…didn’t take any chances on disturbing the lees.

I’m going to give away a few to some experienced home brewers and stout drinkers to try (with the warning to wait until maybe a week or two into January for opening).  I was pretty careful not to bottle any lees and I think the stout looks nice and clear, but deeply dark.

The yield...14 12 oz bottles, 4 flip-top 16 oz bottles and 2 22 oz bottles.

The yield…14 12 oz bottles, 4 flip-top 16 oz bottles and 2 22 oz bottles.

A 22 oz bottle of stout...the first bottled.

A 22 oz bottle of stout…the first bottled.

I marked a  test bottle that was at the end of the bottling that would be the most at risk of getting a little sediment. I primed with 1-5/8 oz corn sugar dissolved in 12 oz boiling water. I haven’t come up with a name or label design for this beer. I may not for this one. For now, it’s clean-up time.

Standard

Leave a Reply

