Uncategorized

Day 47 Racking Big Dark, Checking Cider Batch #4

After a couple of days, I’m back! There’s still some bubbling going on in the Big Dark stout and the Pineapple Tinker melomel.

The pineapple still has a reduced fruit bits layer on the top, so I am going to give it a little more time before I make the decision to rack it. The stout, on the other hand, has slowed a bit more, so I decided to rack it to carboys for a secondary/clearing period.

Sanitized and ready to rack!

Sanitized and ready to rack!

I sanitized all my supplies and started racking. I filled two 1 gallon carboys and about half of a 1/2 gallon carboy.

2-1/2 gallons racked.

2-1/2 gallons racked.

I started to get a bit of lees in the bottling tube, so I stopped. The bottling bucket was pretty well-drained. I did rack a ounce or so into a little tasting glass.

Taster sample

Taster sample

The color is deep, living up to the name Big Dark! The aroma is malty and the flavor is a little sweet and malty up front with a little bitterness making a comeback. I think this batch shows promise! The current SG is 1.022 @70F. The digital thermometer reads 71F, but it’s a probe, not air, thermometer. It reads the beer temp at 74F.  All my readings to this point have been based on the air temp.,  as registered by the house thermostat though, so that’s what I’m going with, for consistency.

Bottom of the bucket.

Bottom of the bucket.

So, 1.022 adjusted to hydrometer calibration is 1.023. Now, I had some issues with getting the OG on this batch. The figure I’m going to go with is the 1.112 I got when I checked it the day after I brewed it. If that’s accurate, the current ABV is 11.68%…wow! I didn’t get an alcohol burn from the sample I tasted, but I guess it’s possible. The recipe projection called for an OG of 1.07 ish and the ABV would be in the 6-1/2 to 7% range. I’ll just have to drink one and see the effects to know which number is closer!

11:00 pm   Stuck the tester bottle of my cider batch #4 in the fridge earlier. It has been opened a few times and has served its purpose. I imagine it won’t build pressure equal to the capped bottles anymore. So I popped the top and there is still just a tiny bit of carbonation, but the color is a beautiful golden, the flavor is good and the sweetness level is great, but not overly sweet.

Golden and delicious! Still barely any carb, but it hardly matters!

Golden and delicious! Still barely any carb, but it hardly matters!

I’ll have to open a regular bottle in the near future to check their carb level and decide if they need to be pasteurized. So far, it’s not looking like it, but I’m happy with the cider as it is. It will absolutely be consumed!

Standard

Leave a Reply

