Uncategorized

Day 52 Racking Pineapple Tinker Again

The only thing I have “in process”, other than stuff bottle conditioning, is my Pineapple Tinker experiment. I have racked it to a half gallon carboy and a 22 oz amber bottle for further clarification. Some fine lees is already settling.

Racked Pineapple Tinker again

Racked Pineapple Tinker again

The SG is 1.005, adjusted and the flavor has changed, but it still isn’t something I would want to drink at this point. Otherwise, it’s kind of hard to describe. I guess it’s like canned pineapple juice, but without the metallic flavor…that’s as close as I can get. With the adjusted OG at 1.111, this stuff apparently rings in at 13.91 % ABV! Woo wee!

I put the leftovers in a 12 oz bottle…basically lees and some safety zone juice. When this settles, I think I’ll try to draw off the good stuff and mix in some Murray’s Apple Cider and ferment it out. More fun experiments!

I did open a 22 oz bottle  of Crabapple/Fuji Cider last night and it was quite good, in my opinion.

Crabby/Fuji Blend. Nice color. Carb is a little better than it was when last checked.

Crabby/Fuji Blend. Nice color. Carb is a little better than it was when last checked.

The carbonation has increased a  little, but nowhere near to the point that I would  worry about it becoming a bottle bomb. I would like to see that carbonation continue to increase; however, the flavor and sweetness level are good. My niece, Erin, had a glass and enjoyed it!

Standard

Leave a Reply

