Uncategorized

Day 58 Bottling Belgian Strong Dark

Bottling day! The Belgian Strong Dark had slowed to the point that I felt it was time to bottle. I got all my equipment and supplies assembled and sanitized, including fourteen 22 oz bottles and some 12 oz bottles. I racked the beer from the bottling bucket into two primary fermentation buckets and I washed and sanitized the bottling bucket.

Ready to bottle my Belgian Strong Dark!

Ready to bottle my Belgian Strong Dark!

I prepared a solution of just over 2 oz of corn sugar with 12 oz hot water and added it to the bottling bucket. I checked the FG at an adjusted reading of 1.010. I racked the beer back into the bottling bucket and mixed it with the corn sugar solution. The OG was 1.073, so the ABV should be 8.14%. I can say that a sample I tasted seemed fairly strong.

Tasty sample!

Tasty sample!

However, unlike stout, this Belgian Strong Dark does not have the roasted/toasty flavor. It has a fruity component instead, yet I still get a nice little bitterness and malt. I think I’m going to really enjoy this beer!

I used my new bench capper and was generally impressed…I need more practice, but it went well. All in all, I got fourteen 22 oz bottles and three 12 oz bottles. Now, the agonizing wait!

To ease my anxiety, I decided to make some stout braised pork country ribs.

Dry Stout. bottled 12/09/13...getting good!

Dry Stout. bottled 12/09/13…getting good!

Conveniently, I decided the recipe should use about half of a bottle of my home brewed dry stout. It was bottled on 12/09/13, I believe. It is drinkable, but another week or two wouldn’t hurt. It made a terrific braising liquid!

Stout braising some country style pork ribs...Mmm!

Stout braising some country style pork ribs…Mmm!

Standard

Leave a Reply

