Uncategorized

Day 60 Brew Day! New Nut Brown Ale Recipe

Nut Brown Ale Kit for 5 gallon batch

Nut Brown Ale Kit for 5 gallon batch

Brewing my Christmas present batch of Nut Brown Ale. This kit is for a 5 gallon batch…a little daunting, but I’m going for it. I sanitized all my equipment and supplies and dove in. A couple little twists: the gift also included, on the advice of an experienced brewer, gypsum and Irish moss. Unfortunately, they were not included in the recipe instructions. After doing some research, I have decided to add 1 teaspoon of gypsum to the boil at 60 minutes and the Irish moss at 15 minutes. There was no direction to “sparge” the grain bag, but I decided to: 1 gallon at 170F after a 30 minute steep at 155F.

Grain steep, 30 minutes

Grain steep, 30 minutes

The boil started to go over after the liquid malt extract addition. I moved the pot off the heat and quickly cleaned a little spillage, moved it back on and added the gypsum and the 60 minute hops addition.

Boiling the wort

Boiling the wort

Waiting for the 15 minute mark as I write this. I went and bought 4 bags of ice this time before getting started, so I will be able to get the wort temperature down a little faster than last time. Back later….

Fermenting in the bottling bucket

Fermenting in the bottling bucket

Well, my digital thermometer crapped out. Back to reading the needle. Otherwise, the brew finished just fine. OG was 1.052@75F. Adjust to 1.053 for hydrometer calibration. Yeast rehydrated and pitched. Bucket aerated for 5 minutes and it’s ready to rock and roll.

I went to the brew shop today (Atlantic Brew Supply) and picked up ingredients for a batch of hefeweisse. I also picked up some tubing to make a blow-off for the nut brown ale. I’m going to attach to the airlock (remove top and insert and attach hose) and run it into a malt jug that is half filled with water, through a notched lid.

Blow off valve using airlock, tubing and malt jug.

Blow off valve using airlock, tubing and malt jug.

Since I have never done a 5 gallon batch before, I figure I’d rather be safe than sorry. I also picked up a small amount of untoasted American oak chips to drop in the Pineapple Tinker. Since I really only have a half gallon of Pineapple Tinker and I’ve read about people using 1 to 2 oz of oak in 5 gallon batches, I’m going to start with 1/4 oz. It doesn’t sound like much, but it looks like plenty and I don’t want to overdo it. I’m soaking them in a sanitizer solution now and will add them shortly. I plan on giving them about a 3 day soak in the pineapple melomel (fruit mead).

Oak chips in Pineapple Tinker (melomel...fruit flavored mead.)

Oak chips in Pineapple Tinker (melomel…fruit flavored mead.)

Untoasted American Oak chips in no-rinse sanitizer solution.

Untoasted American Oak chips in no-rinse sanitizer solution.

Pineapple Tinker getting an oak soak for a few days.

Pineapple Tinker getting an oak soak for a few days.

Standard

Leave a Reply

