Uncategorized

Day 64 Bottling Pineapple Tinker; Tasting Belgian Strong Dark

Yesterday, I attended a local event that happens monthly at a local brewery that has a great homebrew shop attached. They feature a beer recipe at 1/2 price for the month and then one Saturday per month people gather and brew onsite.

Fermenters at a local onsite brew event and just a couple of the home brew folks.

Fermenters at a local onsite brew event and just a couple of the home brew folks.

It’s a great way to learn and connect with people. I was just observing this time, but next month I will be participating and taking some cider and beer to share and have critiqued. If you have a similar event in your area, I strongly recommend it!

Today, I enjoyed some of my Crabapple-Fuji Cider and opened a Belgian Strong Dark for the first time. The Belgian was brewed on 12/28/13 and bottled on 1/6/14. I was afraid it would be too soon to open one, but I was pleasantly suprised to find it nicely carbed and tasty.

Belgian Strong Dark after only 2 weeks in the bottle.

Belgian Strong Dark after only 2 weeks in the bottle.

It is not at all smokey or roasted, but it has malty/caramel flavors, a fairly strong bitterness, a fruitiness, and a strong alcoholic kick (at 8.14%ABV!). I imagine this one will mellow with age and only get better. I probably won’t open one again until next month…and maybe let the rest go several more months.

Aaaand…finally!!! Bottled Pineapple Tinker! I got two flip-top bottles and three 12 oz bottles out of the batch. At this point, it is supposed to have over 11% ABV, if I figured things properly, but it tastes like very mild…almost liked watered down cider. If I do have the ABV figured correctly, this would be way too easy to drink! I am planning on hiding these from myself for a year or more to see how they age.

Pineapple Tinker, finally in the bottle!

Pineapple Tinker, finally in the bottle!

It’s been a fairly long process already…so I might as well just be patient on this one and let it go.

Standard

Leave a Reply

