Uncategorized

Day 67 Bottling Great Weisse Shark (with cool labels!)

Last night, I stayed up for awhile and worked on labels for the “Great Weisse Shark” wheat beer for my friend. He is a diver and offering a Megalodon tooth for a batch of beer. Of course, absolutely! I like what I came up with.

The background is actually a light blue.

The background is actually a light blue.

This morning, I racked the hefeweizen to a second bottling bucket, mainly to get it off the lees.

Trub

Trub

drained from primary into second bucket for bottling.

drained from primary into second bucket for bottling.

There seemed to be a fair amount in suspension. I hope it will settle a bit more over the course of the day, before I bottle it. Hefe’s aren’t really supposed to be crystal clear…part of the style. It seemed a little dark, though. SG is 1.012, so it’s ready.

Priming sugar solution is in the bottling bucket. Racking for bottling.

Priming sugar solution is in the bottling bucket. Racking for bottling.

Sample for evaluation...color, taste, hydrometer.

Sample for evaluation…color, taste, hydrometer.

I took a sample to the home brew store and the guy there said it looked and smelled good. Extract recipes are going to be a little dark, just because of the extract. So, with my mind at ease, I bought some bottles and caps and will be bottling later!

6:30 pm   I had just enough bottles to knock out the hefeweizen. I had to transfer a few beers to growlers and soak/scrape some bottles, but I got it done! I suppose I should drink some beer tonight, before it goes flat…dang. The batch yielded 47 twelve oz bottles and 2 twenty-two oz bottles.

Bottling!

Bottling!

The FG is 1.011 (adjusted). The OG was 1.042, so the ABV should be a nice sessionable 4.2%. The flavor that I got from the hydrometer sample was pretty good…I’m thinking this is a good one. For summer, maybe a little citrus peel at the 50 minute mark and some more at 60 minutes? I will hold back the twenty-two oz bottles and maybe 2 or 3 little ones, so I can test when they are ready. The recipe says age 7 days…sounds too short to me. Home brew shop guy says he likes to drink them young. Just have to figure when they are carbed enough to drink and go with it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

