Uncategorized

Day 119 Racking the American Wheat RyePa and Tepache

Ready to rack to secondary.

Ready to rack to secondary.

The SG is the same today, so I’m racking the American Wheat RyePA to secondary. In the secondary, I’m adding the zest of 2 oranges and 2 lemons that have been soaking in about a half cup of vodka in the fridge for several days to extract flavor and sanitize the zest.

Vodka and zests into the secondary bucket.

Vodka and zests into the secondary bucket.

DSC04859

Orange and lemon zests in vodka.

I’m throwing in the little bit of vodka as well. The smell and color are good. I figure about 4 days in secondary will be sufficient and then I’ll be bottling. There is a fairly thick layer of trub, as I am finding is common in the BIAB brewing process. (Or regular all grain brewing, too, I’m sure.) I did bump my water a little in the boil, so I have almost 5 full gallons after racking.

Hydrometer sample, refrigerated to check color and flavor.

Hydrometer sample, refrigerated to check color and flavor.

Trub in the bottom of primary.

Trub in the bottom of primary.

 

I also worked on the tepache today. I strained the pineapple and spices out and racked the tepache onto a cup of water and a 12 oz bottle of strawberry blonde ale that was home brewed and unpasteurized. I resealed the fermentation bucket and will allow it to process another couple of days.

Adding a beer to the tepache, after straining.

Adding a beer to the tepache, after straining

Lots o'bubbles!

Lots o’bubbles!

This evening, I decided to take the two oranges and two lemons that I had zested several days ago for the RyePA  and juice them. That gave me about 3/4 cup of juice. I added that to a large measuring cup and stirred in a 1/2 cup sugar and  topped up with water to 48 oz.  Stirred to dissolve the sugar and added 1/4 cup of my “ginger bug” starter. I bottled three 12 oz bottles…thought it would make four? Anyway, let’s see how it does in a couple of days.

Standard

Leave a Reply

