Uncategorized

Day 122 Bottling Day! Summer Ale!

Cleaned and sanitized bottles.

Cleaned and sanitized bottles.

I bottled 5 gallons of Summer Ale today. I thought it was going to be a little short. I was estimating 4.65 gallons in the bottling bucket and added 3 5/8 oz corn sugar for priming and dissolved it in about 2 cups of very hot Culligan water. I made sure to stir it in well, to distribute it evenly. I actually wound up with 49 bottles. The beer is pale and not sparkling clear, but I don’t mind. It didn’t really have much trub, so it should be good.

Pretty clean...light trub and some zest.

Pretty clean…light trub and some zest.

Looking forward to this one carbing up and seeing how it turns out, The sample I got today is definitely more interesting than it was before the 1/2 oz Citra dry hop addition. I confirmed an FG of 1.011 for an ABV of 5.25%. Right on target!

Hops bag removed. Smells great!

Hops bag removed. Smells great!

Racking to the bottling bucket.

Racking to the bottling bucket.

Standard

Leave a Reply

