Uncategorized

Day 124 Starting Another Batch of Tepache

Tepache ingredients in the fermentation bucket.

Tepache ingredients in the fermentation bucket.

I cut up a pineapple as part of some fruit that I was providing at a family gathering yesterday, so I kept the core and skin for another batch of tepache. Waste not, want not! I picked up the piloncillo Mexican raw sugar this evening and started my batch.

Of course, I sanitized my fermentation bucket. I then added the pineapple skins and core, 20 oz of piloncillo, eight cups of water, a stick of cinnamon, and five whole cloves (increased from the original 3). Let the fermentation begin!

DSC05046

If history is repeated, the fermentation will be evident in about 48 hours and I will allow it to continue to day 5 or 6 before the next step. At that point, it’s straining and adding a little more water. Adding a beer at that point is optional and I have done it in my previous batches. This time, I may skip it,  just to see the difference.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Day 124 Starting Another Batch of Tepache

    • More or less…depending on temperature. If it’s warm, you can set it out in the sun! Some people like it at 24 hours, just to be a refreshing Summer drink. I like a little alcohol and a little bit of sour. You just have to keep checking it for your personal preference. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

