Uncategorized

Day 164 Racking McQuinn’s Robust Porter to Secondary

 

DSC05904

Setting up to rack 1 gallon jug plus about 6 gallons in the bucket to the big glass carboy.

It has been just past a week in primary fermentation for McQuinn’s Robust Porter. Activity really seemed to dive after just a few days, but I gave it a week anyway. It looks pretty good…nice color and decent clarity.

McQuinn's Robust Porter, ready to rack.

McQuinn’s Robust Porter, ready to rack.

I’ll see how it settles in Secondary. It may not need very long. The hydrometer sample I collected puts the SG at 1.010 at 73.6F, corrected=1.011; the recipe projected the final at 1.015, so I’m already beyond that.

Hydrometer sample

Hydrometer sample

A little taste is nice and roasty. I think it’s good, but I don’t have enough experience with porters to really know what I’ve got. It might just be mediocre. Eventually, I’ll get some reviews. For now, I’ll just keep on rolling.

Wound up with 5-1/2 gallons in secondary.

Wound up with 5-1/2 gallons in secondary.

Now I need to see if I want to try and harvest the Mangrove Jack’s British Ale Yeast. It certainly seems to be a quick and effective bunch of critters!

Standard

Leave a Reply

