Uncategorized

Racking Yooper’s Gingerbread Oatmeal Stout

Equipment for racking

Equipment for racking

Racking time for Yooper’s Gingerbread Oatmeal Stout. Because there is trub, grated ginger, spices and half a vanilla bean in the mix, I’m filtering out any bigger particles with a santized nylon mesh bag. I tied the bag onto the tip of the siphon’s tube.

Filter bag tied in place.

Filter bag tied in place.

The racking went smoothly. I was considering bottling today; however, I though I saw a bubble in the airlock after I finished racking and sealed the new container. I’m going to give it some more time, just because I don’t want to rush it.

I did take a hydrometer sample and the SG is actually below the regular stout that I already bottled. A little nervous about that, but there is more going on here that can account for it. The original version finished at 1.019 and the gingerbread version is at 1.016.

Hydrometer sample. 1.015 @ 70F=1.016

Hydrometer sample. 1.015 @ 70F=1.016

The color is a little light for the style, but not a problem for me…it’s not going into a competition. The clarity looks pretty good. Currently, the aroma is strong fresh ginger. The flavor is initially dominated by the fresh ginger, too. The flavor turns more gingerbread in the finish. It’s not sweet…which is good. I didn’t want to create a sweet beer. I believe there is potential for a nice brew here. I think the ginger will fall back with age and bottle conditioning and allow the vanilla and other spice notes to come through.

Sippin' sample!

Sippin’ sample!

A little more trub in the bucket than I expected…smell was amazing, though!

Trub, ginger, spices, vanilla bean half.

Trub, ginger, spices, vanilla bean half.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Racking Yooper’s Gingerbread Oatmeal Stout

  1. Hi!

    Thank you very much for this article.
    Your filter draws my attention. I guess it works perfectly for big particles (hops…), but how effective is it on trub?

    Thanks you.

    Julien R.

    • Hi! The make-shift strainer did okay for big stuff that was floating, but I wasn’t really trying to filter the trub. I still tend to go through a second day for final settling and racking to bottle. (Though many fellow brewers express that they don’t.) I’m not super worried about crystal clarity, but I am very careful about sanitizing and cleaning, so racking to secondary, or even tertiary doesn’t bother me.

Leave a Reply

